Overview

WHAT: NCC09 - Netart Community Convention 2009

WHEN: 23rd to 29th Nov. 2009

WHERE: Graz/Austria

intro

Over the past few years the „web“ - one of the countless applications of the internet – grew to the synonym for the world wide web. Marketing departments have taken control over the definition of content in a broad range and stuff it with more and more colorful content onto overloaded browsers. The user settles with the given space and fills huge portals with content only to get phony freedom in return.

We oppose this fact with the proposition/allegation that we are located in the web 0.2 age. From this point we are observing the events and start to (re)search further developments. Instead of just floating the surface, we are trying to provide the effective resources from behind and make them the main topic of discussion, reflection and controversy. Instead of throwing around with answers we are trying to formulate appropriate questions.

operating mode

parallel

From Monday to Thursday the NCC09 will take place at different locations at the same time. During this first phase the NCC09 will have laboratory style, so the Hosts will be the place for production, debating and experimenting. The in/exclusion of audience remains at the discretion of the Hosts

serial

Friday and Saturday the focus of the NCC09 changes, so each relocated Host now becomes the center of attention for some time. The rotation of locations will be subdivided into three parts: morning, afternoon, and evening. And all participants are invited to join the caravan and are as well invited to dinner...

virtual

By the therm „cloud computing“ we are intending to show striking changes of the infrastructure that more and more replaces the common „servers“ in the background of web2.0. The power over mainframe computers resp. physically touchable servers or clusters of computers, like it has been for years is deflecting. In the surrounding of global information providers this change is noticeable and the drift to outsource to cluster of „virtual machines“, which tend to be very flexible (and this is why its called „elastic computing“), is enormous. So different data centers all over the world replace the common ones. An approach that allows a relative short dated increase of resources depending on workload or daytime adjustment and facilitates global migration of data.

call4participation

We hereby call for your participation in one of the described roles here. Specific concepts and ideas can from now on be suggested at NCC09 Mailingliste and/or be brought into debate here on the Wiki. Further organizational and discursive matters will be handled here. For further information, also see http://ncc09.mur.at/.

Participants are invited to take up one or more of the following positions:

positions

Host

a: one that receives or entertains guests socially, commercially, or officially. b: one that provides facilities for an event or function.1

Artist

1 a: obsolete: one skilled or versed in learned arts. 1 b: archaic: physician. 1 c: archaic: artisan. 2 a: one who professes and practices an imaginative art. 2 b: a person skilled in one of the fine arts. 3: a skilled performer; especially: artiste. 4: one who is adept at something.2

Visitor

one that visits; especially: one that makes formal visits of inspection.3.

NCC09 – organizational team

deutsche Version

ncc09: En/Call4Participation (last edited 2009-11-11 17:44:20 by JogiHofmueller)

Überblick

WAS: NCC09 - Netart Community Convention 2009

WANN: 23. bis 29. Nov. 2009

WO: Graz/Austria

Intro

Zum insgesamt 5. mal werden sich Ende November 2009 Künstler_innen im Rahmen der Netart Community Convention in Graz treffen. Die diesjährige NCC gliedert sich in drei Teile: parallel, seriell und virtuell (siehe Modus Operandi).

In den letzten Jahren wurde das Web - eine von unzähligen Anwendungen im Netz - zum Synonym für das Internet schlechthin. Über weite Strecken haben die Marketingabteilungen die Definitionsmacht übernommen und packen mehr und mehr bunten Content in die überforderten Browser. Die/der Userin nimmt ihren/seinen zugewiesenen Platz im Geschehen ein und füllt die grossen Portale mit Inhalten, um im Gegenzug Scheinfreiheit zu gewinnen.

Wir stellen diesem Umstand die Behauptung gegenüber, das wir uns im Zeitalter des Web 0.2 befinden. Von diesem Punkt aus betrachten wir das Geschehen und begeben uns auf die Suche nach möglichen weiteren Entwicklungen. Anstatt uns auf der Oberfläche treiben zu lassen, beginnen wir, die effektiven Produktionsmittel hinter den Kulissen zum Thema der Auseinadersetzung zu erklären. Anstatt mit Antworten um uns zu werfen, werden wir versuchen, passende Fragen zu formulieren.

Modus Operandi

parallel

Von Montag bis Donnerstag findet die NCC09 an verschiedenen Orten - den Hosts - gleichzeitig statt. In dieser Phase hat die NCC09 Laborcharacter. An den Hosts wird produziert, diskutiert und experimentiert. Ein-/Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit bleibt den Hosts überlassen.

seriell

Freitag und Samstag wechselt der Fokus im Rythmus Vormittag, Nachmittag, Abend von einem Host zum nächsten. Die Orte, die während der Parallelphase lokale Fokusierungspunkte waren, werden für einige Stunden zum Zentrum der NCC09. Alle Teilnehmenden sind eingeladen, sich der Karawane anzuschliessen.

Gemeinsames Essen bildet den informellen Rahmen zum Erfahrungs- und Meinungsaustausch.

virtuell

Unter dem Begriff "cloud computing" versucht man auffällige Veränderungen jener Infrastruktur zu fassen, die im Hintergrund heutiger Web2.0 Anwendungen immer häufiger tatsächliche 'klassische' Server ersetzen. Die stolze Verfügungsgewalt über Großrechner ("big iron") bzw. phsykalisch klar greifbarer Server und Cluster von Computern, wie sie vor einigen Jahren noch dominierend war, verlagert sich -- wenigstens im Umfeld globaler Informationsanbieter -- zusehends hin zu Schwärmen von "virtuellen Maschinen", die ausgesprochen flexibel (deshalb auch das immer wiederkehrende Synonym: "elastic computing") auf verschiedensten Datacenters der Welt ausgelagert bzw. verteilt werden. Ein Herangehensweise, die zb. auch eine relativ kurzfristig Aufstockung von Ressourcen je nach Auslastung od. tageszeitliche Anpassung und globale Migrationsbewegungen etc. ermöglicht.

Aufruf zur Teilnahme

Wir rufen hiermit zu Teilnahme in Form einer der im folgenden beschriebenen Rollen auf. Konkrete Vorschläge und Ideen können ab sofort auf der NCC09 Mailingliste und/oder hier im Wiki eingebracht werden. Weitere organisatorische und diskursive Dinge werden ebendort abgehandelt. Für Informationen steht weiters http://ncc09.mur.at/ zur Verfügung.

Teilnehmerinnen bieten wir an, eine oder mehrere der folgenden drei Rollen einzunehmen:

Rollen

Host (Wirt_in, Gastgeber_in)

a: one that receives or entertains guests socially, commercially, or officially. b: one that provides facilities for an event or function.1

Artist (Künstler_in)

1 a: obsolete: one skilled or versed in learned arts. 1 b: archaic: physician. 1 c: archaic: artisan. 2 a: one who professes and practices an imaginative art. 2 b: a person skilled in one of the fine arts. 3: a skilled performer; especially: artiste. 4: one who is adept at something.2

Visitor (Besucher_in)

one that visits; especially: one that makes formal visits of inspection.3.

NCC09 - Organisationsteam

english version

ncc09: Call4Participation (last edited 2009-11-11 17:43:40 by JogiHofmueller)